Rainbows on Life’s Highways

10/26/2014,  It is said that every time it rains, there is a rainbow to be found somewhere.   In stories, there is almost always a silver lining theme.  When a relationship ends, life eventually takes on a sense of refreshing newness & exploration.  Even at a funeral, love and compassion can be found & people (families) can reconnect in remembering the dearly departed.  Sometimes finding the good & positive things that come from tragedy, problems, etc. is very hard to do.  Sometimes it is trying to see the glass being half full when everything inside you says that glass is half empty.  The trying to see the positive often makes the difference in how long we suffer emotional pain.  Sometimes we wallow in sorrow & despair.  Sometimes we fight to survive.  Sometimes we become angry & bitter for awhile.  Sometimes we do not suffer long—sometimes we see the goodness, truth, light, the silver lining before despair sets in.

The rainbows on life’s highways should be observed, appreciated, and give us hope.  I am not saying that there is always something positive that comes from a tragedy.  But, what I am saying is that we need to be aware of what surrounds us…to see the positive….to be open to something good when we are at our lowest.  If we are receptive to whatever is positive around us, then the darkness may not be so dark.  For instance, sitting in a hospital emergency room waiting for news of a loved one & seeing a child play or reading…the child’s joy of living for a moment can be heartening if you let it.  Another example, losing a job & then finding new & cheap forms of entertainment (such as library or church events) – thus learning to live cheaper which brings a deeper appreciation for when a job is obtained.  Also, getting divorced & feeling lonely and then being asked to come to a party or event or dinner with friends.   Seeing whatever is positive & good around you in the midst of emotional pain is seeing the rainbows on life’s highways.

The past 72 hours, I have experienced seeing the rainbows put in my path.  On Friday, I had a friend back out of attending a play with me after I bought the tickets.  Having social phobia, I did not go alone to the play.  I was feeling let down & depressed especially since my divorce was just finalized & I needed a friend.  Then, on Saturday I volunteered for a local pet rescue group at a garden center fall family event & I saw several people I knew…former co-workers, friends I have not seen in a long time, and even acquaintances.  All of these people said hello, some hugged me, and I felt happy seeing all of them.   So after feeling lonely & let down on Friday…my positive experience on Saturday made me feel better.  Then, came Sunday morning.  I asked my friend, Pam – president of the church council, to sit with me at a brunch that was happening at church.  I asked her a week beforehand.  She said yes & I bought the ticket to the brunch.  Then, this morning — she told me she could not sit with me because she had to sit at a table for the church council.  Again, my social phobia kicked in & I left because I had no one to sit with.   I felt devastated…truly devastated because this was now the 2nd friend to back out on me.  Then, I went back to the Garden Factory/center to volunteer.  Today, Sunday, I met my grand nephew for the first time…he is 18 mos old & I felt truly blessed to be able to meet him.  Due to strained relationships, I never thought I would meet him….Then, I did today.  God blessed me with meeting my grand nephew.  I also saw one of my cousins and his children.  Again, I saw people I knew which made me extremely happy today.  While I could focus on the 2 friends who let me down, I am choosing to dwell on the positive things that happened this weekend.  I am choosing to see the rainbow.

In choosing to see the rainbows on life’s highways, the focus is on positivity, truth, light, joy, and goodness.  It does not mean we do not experience pain.  It simply means that we are aware & conscious of the good things, the rainbows around us and in our lives.

 

Leave a comment